Home > Explore > Islands

Derwentwater Islands

Explore the Islands around Derwentwater, Keswick.

About Derwentwater Islands

Derwentwater has four permanent islands: Derwent, Lord’s, Rampsholme and St. Herbert’s. It also has (reputedly) one floating island which sporadically appears towards the end of summer consisting of a mass of vegetable matter that rises to the surface on a cushion of methane gas!

Access to the Islands

Apart from Derwent Island, which is a private residence, boat users are welcome to land on the islands. However we request that you do not stay overnight or light any fires. Please take care not to disturb any nesting birds.